A beautiful thing.

In the end, we must all paint what is inside us. And that is a beautiful thing.

But it also helps, a lot, to get a different perspective sometimes.

Often with my ‘out there’ paintings that get painted when I am in the flow and definitely without my knowledge, something tells me when to stop, when the painting is finished.

But when it comes to landscapes and still life paintings that require a degree of finesse, not to mention a prodigious amount of skill, I am hopelessly lost. My instinct fails me. I can never tell when a painting is done or not done. Like the one below.

1104151718

It had its merits, but, I wasn’t sure what to think of it. To me, it was simply…nice.

So I shared it with my art group. I got a lot of wonderful feedback. Some things were really good, others could be changed…
And then I heard a soft, ‘This does not do anything for me…’, and let me tell you, AHA moment!! She had put into words exactly what I was feeling without knowing that THAT was the vague nagging feeling that I was struggling with. That this painting did not do anything for me. I had played safe with it without doing all the mad splashing, scraping, spritzing, dabbing that I feel compelled to do when I am really in the zone. In short, I wasn’t being true to my inner child. HA! Woot! Woot! Thank you, dearest friend (You know who you are!!) for pointing me in the right direction!

SO….back to the drawing board…and paint splashing happiness…

1120151147

1120151147a

1120151147b

In the end, we must all paint what is inside us but seeking advice and receiving it can be very invaluable too.

I don’t think this one is done yet, but, thanks to a dear friend and fellow artist (a phenomenal one!), it is definitely getting back onto my own painterly compass again. And THAT is a beautiful thing.

7 thoughts on “A beautiful thing.

  1. Ka-zowwie BANG! NOW it’s got some Rama drama. Look at that purple and teal sky!!! And those drips going UP!!! Now the black grounds everything. Now the line of trees become mystery. Now I can’t stop looking at it. I’m so glad you unleashed your inner power on that baby. Good going, girl friend!big hugs,Nancy

    Date: Fri, 20 Nov 2015 19:24:00 +0000 To: nancy_gamon@msn.com

    • And it is all thanks to YOU!!!! All the credit goes to you for pointing me in the right direction! You saved it from being a safe dud. 😀
      Rama Drama. I can’t stop giggling….

  2. I liked the first one; I see tranquility, and in your changes, I see drama, but I can’t elaborate. I do understand though, the “undone” feeling because I think it’s the same for poetry. That nagging feeling is there, so the poem sits, until inspiration strikes later. Beautiful work, Rama!

Leave a Reply

