Flight.

image

Are you ready? said the little bird.

Its going to be a wild ride!

A tremor shook its wings, a shiver ran through its hollow bones that carry the call of the wind within their narrow confines, and the trembling, ever consuming need to soar higher, ever higher…upon the wide blue expanse that seems endless…

and eternal.

Follow me! said the little bird.

Its going to be a wild ride!

Carry me with the strength in your eyes. Do not let them falter for we are partners in this wild bid for freedom. I will lend you my wings and you…you lend me the truth of my existence, of my ability to rise above all else.

You are my witness.

Yes! Yes! I promised.

And I raised him with the strength in my eyes, and the matching hungry bid in my soul, and how we soared together, until he far outstripped my strength, and I could see him no more.

I had witnessed his rising.

With him, I had surrendered.

Closing my eyes I heaved a sigh.

I was undone.

It had been a wild ride!

4 thoughts on “Flight.

Leave a Reply

