About affirmations and such….

Its strange and strangely comforting to hear a life affirmation from the mouth of a complete stranger, when you least expect it, and when you most need it.

Mysterious are the ways of the Universe.

There was a thought that had a hold of me which was making me a wee bit anxious. It wasn’t a constant mind guest, but, it visited often enough to become a bit of a bother. It would pop out like a jack in the box when I least expected it, making my stomach drop and churn, leaving me feeling queasy and uneasy. I needed to settle it. I wanted it gone. I was done with it.

So during Yoga, I chose detachment as the day’s intention.

Detachment: freedom from self-interest or bias; the act of disengaging or separating something.

Detachment from worry, from anxiety, from my ego which was holding on to that thought and making it personal when it needn’t have been. It was time, and apparently the right time to let it go, because all through the sun salutations, I could not stop crying. I gathered all that anxiety upon my breath and released it, let it go. The tears were of quiet joy, of release and acceptance.

At peace, my heart full and with a soft gaze, I headed to the grocery store and instead of going to the self check out line as I normally do, I let myself get ‘lured’ to a regular check out aisle where the helper, a complete stranger to me, looked me straight in the eye and asked if I was alright. And when I said yes, quite out of the blue, he said,

‘Its okay. Its all good. It all works out.’

You could have knocked me down with a feather. Struck dumb, I simply stared at him for a moment and then something exploded in my heart and I burst out laughing. It was my turn to look him in the eye and say,

‘Yes. Yes, it sure does.’

Hearing him speak that affirmation was akin to putting the last nail in the coffin of that troublesome thought and I laid to rest for good.

Strange indeed are the ways of the Universe and it sure has our back, don’t you think?

IMG_20130621_172249

2 thoughts on “About affirmations and such….

  1. Hi there – thank you for visiting my blog too 🙂
    Was wondering you draw the sketch on this page? I really like it.
    I look forward to reading more of your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

