What better than soup for a sore throat?

There’s only so much of canned soup one can have! One can. Okay, maybe two, if push came to shove. There’s something about its tinny sliminess that gets stale rather quick, don’t you think?

Now, I LOVE soups ! Especially soups made from scratch, using fresh home made stocks, which have the wholesomeness and the earthiness of mushrooms, carrots, leeks, fresh parsley….steaming hot and oh so flavorful!
And served with freshly baked French baguette dipped in extra virgin olive oil and a side of apple/hickory smoked cheese to nibble on…yum..my bowl of heaven.

And soups was what I have had to subsist on this week since swallowing anything thicker, crustier, meatier was quite out of the question given the supremely delicate condition of my poor throat. *cough cough* *and no bread and cheese either 😦 * *cough cough* Oh…Woe is me! πŸ˜‰

So, having decided to go the tinned route, since I was in no condition to cook either, I tried the above mentioned tinniness. Oh dear! THAT was a dead end, I am afraid.

So, I hoisted myself off the bed, put aside my self pity (only for the moment mind you) and made myself the following….

IMG_20130111_195055

Red chard with lentils.

IMG_20130110_215508

A note: One of the prerequisites of being an Indian is to own a ‘pressure cooker’. We cook all our daily rice and lentils with this most versatile of cooking utensils. (I have even been known to use it to make popcorn) Any who’s, I usually put all the ingredients of the following recipe in the cooker with water and cook it for three whistles, then let it simmer on low heat for 5 minutes and switch it off/take it off the gas/heat. Once the cooker let’s off all the steam and can be opened again, I add the ‘tadka’.
But I am sure you could cook it in a stock pot just as well while taking the precaution of stirring it often to avoid burning or sticking to the bottom of the pan.

So, here’s what you’ll need πŸ™‚ :

1 bunch chard, washed and roughly chopped
About 1/2 cup red lentils/split masoor daal
1 onion, chopped
1 tomato, chopped
2 small green chillies or 1/2 a jalapeΓ±o, finely chopped
1/4 tsp turmeric
Salt to taste

Put all the ingredients in the pot with enough water to cover them and cook on low heat until softened or pressure cook as mentioned above.

Once its cooked, stir with a spatula to ensure its well combined.

Garnish with tadka:

Heat 2 tbs oil in a small vessel. When hot (do not let it burn), add a tbs of mustard seeds, cumin seeds. Let the seeds splutter and then add 2 cloves of chopped garlic. Stir for 5 seconds. Pour into the soup.

Stir and serve hot.

This can also be eaten with chapati/roti/parantha or steamed rice.

I would like to mention here that this is NOT my recipe. My husband found it on the internet one day but we forgot to write down the name of the website or the author of the recipe. So I do apologize for being unable to give proper credit where it is due. 😦

Anna he poorna Brahma.
Bon Apetit!

2 thoughts on “What better than soup for a sore throat?

    • πŸ˜€ Double scoop!
      You know the funny thing is, growing up in India, we were told not to have anything cold whilst suffering under the throes of a cold/flu. And I simply cannot seem to overcome that piece of advice! I automatically reach for something warm or hot to soothe the aches and pains. Old habits sure die hard, if they ever do. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

