Re-inventing ‘self’ through Lunch.

I love how we re-discover ourselves every so often. How we find ways to keep our selves entertained or find ways to add a dash of spice to an otherwise mundane day, week.

Re-inventing ourselves, that is the true spice of life dont you think? That and variety of course.

When we open our minds to possibilities, it is amazing how they come flying in through every crevice and opening, be it a window or a door or a crack in the wall, until one has to say, stop, let me catch my breath. Let me savor every opportunity in and of itself before I drown under it all and am swept away upon the tide of bewilderment and excess.

I had already been flirting with the idea of meditation (at the risk of sounding a bit batty, I have been getting these messages from all sides, through people and reading of course, that I should take up meditation), Yoga which is always a good thing to take up and eating healthier, when, last year, our son brought home a packet from school, selling magazines for a fund raiser! See how that works? I promptly opted for the Yoga Journal and the Vegetarian Times.

And I wasn’t disappointed! The Yoga Journal has a lot of articles on the benefits and ways of meditation, about different styles of Yoga…Its an all round feel good kinda magazine. Just reading it makes me feel so restful and at peace.

The Vegetarian Times has a lot of slurp-a-licious and tempting recipes.

So, feeling inspired, I took it one step further. I decided to try at least two new recipes per week for lunch. It allows us, my husband and I, to add even more varied vegetables, herbs and beans to our already diverse menu. And it is such a thrill to see fresh green and red chard, blushing turnips, the delicate curve of an endive, popping yellow pepper, shy tomatillos, fresh herbs etc, in one’s shopping basket isn’t it? And then, I thought, why not blog about it? So, here we are.

Today, I poached an egg!! For the very first time!! I had never even seen anyone poach an egg forget knowing how to do it. But you never know until you try right? And try I did! (Told you I was inspired!) And guess what, call it beginner’s luck or what have you, I poached an egg! I did it!! Even my sweet hubby was impressed! πŸ™‚

So we had poached eggs over Asparagus, a slice of Ancient Grain bread with Aged Swiss and a sweet Pomelo for dessert.

And here’s how I cooked it.

4 tbsp olive oil, divided
12 1/4″ thick slices baguette (We had toasted Ancient Grain bread instead)
1 clove garlic, halved
2 tbsp distilled or white wine vinegar
1 tsp salt
4 large eggs
1 tbsp snipped chives

1. Pre-heat oven to 400 F. Place paper towel lined plate next to the stove.
2. Spread 2 tbsp of oil over half of baking sheet. Arrange baguette slices in single layer on top of oil, and press down to coat one side with oil. Flip the slices over on baking sheet, and toast in the oven for 8 to 10 minutes, or until golden. Rub each toasted slice with garlic.
3. Bring 1 inch salted water to a boil in a skillet over medium heat. Add asparagus; cook 3 to 5 minutes, or until crisp-tender. Drain, and keep warm.
(Here, I heated up some olive oil in the skillet and stir fried them for a few minutes. Just before removing them from the skillet, I sprinkled them generously with lemon-chilli spice mix from The Gourmet Collection.)

4. Bring 2 qt. water, vinegar, and salt to a boil in a 9 inch saucepan over medium heat. Crack one egg, and drop it into the water, holding shell as close to surface as possible. Rapidly repeat with remaining eggs. Bring to gentle simmerr. (Small bubbles should break surface around edges, not bubble up from bottom of the pan.)
Reduce heat to maintain temperature. Poach eggs 3 minutes. Transfer to prepared plate with a slotted spoon.
5. Divide asparagus between 4 plates. Top each serving with one egg. Drizzle with remaining olive oil. Season with salt and pepper, sprinkle with chives and garnish with toasted baguette slices.

Serves: 4
Per Serving: 330 Cal; 14 G Prot; 17 G Total Fat; 33 G Carb; 3 G Fiber; 1 G Sugar

BON APPETIT!!

9 thoughts on “Re-inventing ‘self’ through Lunch.

  1. Oh I was as fearless as a Ninja wielding those eggs and that slotted spoon. πŸ˜€
    And it really was a delicious lunch if I do say so myself! Thank you, my dear Kathryn!

Leave a Reply

