Unlooked for Treasures.

Treasures, and I do not mean just the sparkly kind, are all the more precious when they are found unexpectedly.
Recently, I acquired a pocket version of Jane Austen’s ‘Persuasion’ at a library sale. Needless to say, I fell in love with it instantly. I had to have it! First of all, its Jane Austen, and second of all, it is so delightfully snug. It didn’t matter one whit that I had another at home, albeit a regular sized one. There was something so cozy and wonderful about the texture, the feel, the print and the weight of this book!
It immediately brought to mind the opening scene of the relatively new ‘Pride and Prejudice’, where Elizabeth Bennet (Keira Knightley) is out walking on a dew drenched morning, engrossed in a book, and as she finishes it, she lays her hand gently, fondly, on its cover. My book is just such a book. Just such a one that Lizzie (I do apologise for taking the liberty of calling her that) might have called her own.
And therefore, I do believe Miss Austen would have approved of my acquisition of this little trinket?

Leave a Reply

