WHILE I AM TRYING TO SLEEP

While I am trying to sleep
the shadows begin their dance
they pirouette, they flutter,
they shimmer and they prance

While I am trying to sleep
the monkeys come out to play
they scream and they screech
until the break of day

While I am trying to sleep
the lions wake up with a roar
round and round and round they prowl
on my bedroom floor

While I am trying to sleep
the bears begin their sniffing
stomping through my house
searching for those muffins

While I am trying to sleep
the ants take off at a run
up and down my arms and legs
their tickling’s not much fun

While I am trying to sleep
the chimps start their march
jibbering and gibbering
swinging from branch to branch

While I am trying to sleep
the elephants blow their trumpets
I am sure to need a pot of tea
with my morning crumpets

While I am trying to sleep
the lambs jump the fence
1 2 3 4….
so on and so forth

While I am trying to sleep
the bees are busy buzzing
zzzzzzzzzzz………
(yawn)…oh is it morning already?

Leave a Reply

