TAP TAP TAP

Tap, tap, tap I heard
While engrossed in my reading
Curiosity stilled my movements
My mind grappled the meaning.
Ascertaining the direction without,
I tiptoed with silent feet
to the window on my right
Sliding it open with the stealth of a thief.
Inch by inch I gained the view
Of a blur of black, white and red,
Intent on carving out a hole
With a teeny tiny head.
It was a sweet little woodpecker
wishing to share my home,
Attempting to create a refuge
Before the cold winter come.
But my home was quite unyielding
The wood unwelcome and hard.
So off he flew in quest of softer yield
Without a backward glance.

Leave a Reply

