MEASURE

As the last grain of sand
slips smoothly and silently
falling without a ripple
only to be lost in the dune
my last moment fast becoming my past,
I shall face my Maker
standing alone and naked
stripped of all material bonds,
of all the illusory trappings of this world.
Clothed in my humility
I will stand before Him with my soul in my hands
surrendering to His Eternal Grace
waiting for the tipping of the scales.
In His realm
my skin will be coloured by the actions of my past
my race, a mere human being
my religion, kindness and generosity.
And that is how I shall be judged.
My worth measured by my deeds alone.

Leave a Reply

