INSTINCT

There was a design
to that desperate flight
that eluded at first
my very human sight.
As I followed his course
I couldn’t help but wonder
whatever was it
that had him in such a dither?
As I looked on,
he dove in one final plunge,
and came up with a swoop
chirping and triumphant.
Then it was..
the reason dawned on me,
for I heard an answering chirp
and saw a tiny expectant beak.
The little red bird
no larger than my thumb,
was flying hither-thither
in search of a crumb.
He was fulfilling his duty
by one and by all,
to nourish and nurture
obeying nature’s call.
In this if not all
we mirror one another,
all living beings
obey the edict of the Mother.

Leave a Reply

