APPROVAL

The light turned red
I rolled to a stop,
casually glancing over
into the neighbors car.
My gaze was caught and held
by a pair of solemn eyes,
round, soulful,
so worldly wise.
A silent scrutiny,
reflective and grave,
in the name of ambiguity,
amity was waived.
I wondered at the thoughts
behind that contemplative gaze,
certain it was judging me,
on the docket for my race.
The light turned green
and as my foot hit the pedal,
I heard a soft, passing ‘woof,’
I had it seems, met with approval.

Leave a Reply

